Skip Navigation

Board of Directors

Founding Honorary Chairman

C. Everett Koop, MD (1916 - 2013)


Carson E. Beadle, Chairman and Co-Founder, Security Mutual Life Insurance Company of New York

President & CEO

Ron Z. Goetzel, PhD, Emory University Institute for Health and Productivity Studies and Truven Health Analytics (formerly the Healthcare Business of Thomson Reuters)

Chief Science Officer

James F. Fries, MD, Stanford University School of Medicine


James Wiehl, JD, Fulbright & Jaworski

Steve Aldana, PhD, WellSteps

David R. Anderson, PhD, StayWell Health Management

David Ballard, PsyD, MBA, American Psychological Association

Dan Gold, PhD, Mercer

Michelle Hatzis, PhD, Google, Inc.

Rebecca Kelly, RD, CDE, PhD, The University of Alabama

Debra Lerner, MS, PhD, Tufts Medical Center

Joseph A. Leutzinger, PhD, Health Improvement Solutions, Inc.

Wendy Lynch, PhD, Altarum Institute

Tre' McCalister, MA, EdD, Dell, Inc.

Michael O'Donnell, PhD, American Journal of Health Promotion

Kenneth R. Pelletier, PhD, MD (hc), University of Arizona School of Medicine and University of California (UCSF) School of Medicine

Bruce Pyenson, FSA, MAAA, Milliman

Seth Serxner, PhD, MPH, Optum Health

Stewart Sill, IBM Integrated Health Services

John F. Troy, JD, Public Policy Consulting


Ex Officio

Ellen Exum, IBM

Willis Goldbeck, Institute for Alternative Futures

Catherine Gordon, MBA, RN, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Jason Lang, MPH, MS, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Jacque Sokolov, MD, SSB Solutions